## Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Meeting Proceedings

## March 10, 2025

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Mr. Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Chad Prieve, Heather Scholz, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: Maria Mason and Lisa Panzer.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on February 10, 2025, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Jorgensen moved, Kraus seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Tramburg, Principal, presented the School of the Month report for Lincoln Elementary School, which included a musical performance from chorus students. He reported on their School Success Plan and other school goals. He reviewed the ELA, Math, and staff effectiveness and development goals, and action steps. He shared information about their Site Intervention Team (SIT) and Social Emotional Learning (SEL) team and highlighted other school events and activities.

Mr. Tronsen, High School Principal, presented the Start College Now and Early College Credit Program requests for the Fall semester of the 2025-2026 school year.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the Start College Now and Early College Credit Program requests for the Fall semester of the 2025-2026 school year as presented.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. No - None.

Mr. Cashman, Director of Business Services, presented a donation from Mr. Wayne Freund and the Flattail Organization in the amount of \$1,500 for the purchase of a washing machine and dryer to be used for the high school athletic program.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to accept the donation as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Max Luedtke, Board of Education Student Representative, reported on his visits to Washington and Wilson Elementary schools, the High School winter athletic season, and Solo and Ensemble.

Ms. Jorgensen, Operations Committee Chair, reported the committee met on February 24. They reviewed the Referendum Projects Monthly Update, received an update on the budget and staffing plans for 2025-2026. The next meeting is scheduled for April 28.

Ms. Kuntz, in Ms. Panzer's absence, reported the Teaching & Learning Committee met on February 24. They received a report on the mid-year School Success Plan (SSP) progress and site-level data, an Achievement Reduction Gap (AGR) data update, and an update on Act 20 regarding early literacy initiatives. The next meeting is scheduled for April 28.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in since the last board meeting. They recognized students on their successful athletic seasons and FFA students for helping with the Second Harvest Food Pantry distribution.

Mr. DiStefano recognized Coach Pogorelec for being named State Hockey Coach of the Year, said the Middle School play was outstanding and the elementary concerts have been great. He thanked the High School staff for their work in hosting playoff and WIAA events over the past month, which were attended by over 8000 spectators. He congratulated the Solo and Ensemble students who are moving on to state competition.

Ms. Jorgensen presented a proclamation declaring March 2025 as Fine Arts Month.

Kuntz moved, Dornfeld seconded, to affirm the Fine Arts Month proclamation as read.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, the board recess into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees; and §19.85(1)(e) deliberating or negotiating the purchasing of public properties, the investing of public funds, or conducting other specified public business, whenever competitive or bargaining reasons require a closed session.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. No - None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees and the possible purchase of property.

Kuntz moved, Dornfeld seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence requests: James Gwin-Physical Education Teacher-Middle School (Family Leave 5/12/25-6/6/25); Jessica LeFeber-Music Teacher-Middle School (Medical Leave 4/30/25-6/3/25); and Mark LeFeber-Vocal Music Teacher-High School (Family Leave 5/19/25-6/3/25).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointment: Louann Mantei-Special Education Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School (LTS 4/7/25-end of the 2024-25 school year).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. No - None.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to appoint Marge Jorgensen, Mark DiStefano, and Michelle Falkinham to serve as the board of canvassers for the April school board election with Tammy Sether as the alternate.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. DiStefano presented the board policy updates from Neola for first reading.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #608, #609, #610, and #611) for ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Health Savings Account (District), Modern Woodmen of America, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, Wisconsin Retirement System, Payroll Related Voucher, and District Insurances for a total of \$3,894,169.56. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. No - None.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 8:38 p.m.

<u>/s/</u>

Chad Prieve. President

/s/ Marge Jorgensen, Clerk